More Please

Here are some things I like seeing in movies:

*Cooking. Especially close up shots of fruits and vegetables being sliced. But I hate close ups of meat.

*Aliens.

*Aussies and Kiwis. I usually like every movie made in Australia and New Zealand, even if it’s really really bad.

*Tap dancing.

*Girls with hairy legs. As a positive. I can’t even think of an example of this, but I really wish I could.

*Samurai swords.

*Puppets.

*Hypnosis. Which, I’m sure, is a carryover from loving The X-Files.

*Mulder and Scully.

*Blood and guts. Disemboweling is always cool.

*People talking with their mouths full.

*Women shaving their heads.

*Sylvester Stallone.

*Training montages. Especially the ones with Sylvester Stallone.

*Italian stallions.

*Owls.

*Elderly gay couples.

*Long montages of beautifully photographed nature, with some kind of Debussy-sounding music and a voice over.

*Dogs as minor characters.

*When plants and animals get revenge on humans.

1 Comment

Filed under Whitney

One response to “More Please

  1. I agree whole-heartedly with all of these except people talking with their mouths full (I always want to say, “Your mother taught you better than that!”) and dogs as minor characters (meh).

    Along with fruits and vegetables being cut up in close-up, I love when the sound is such that the sound of the knife on the cutting board is really loud. Tortilla Soup wasn’t the gem I was hoping (and expecting) it to be, but it was great for cooking scenes.

Leave a Reply

