Sundance Schedule Day #1 and #2

I’ll be posting reviews here for the Sundance festival. But I just want to give you an idea of what kinds of things you’ll be reading on Dear Jesus in the next 10 days (due to the insanely life-consuming experience of the festival, I want to get as much exposure out of it as I can).

Day 1

Until 12:30 I’ll be walking dogs, then at 2:30 I have to pick a friend up at the airport. That means I’ll miss the press screening of “Enemies of the People,” an inside look at the Khmer Rouge, but hopefully I’ll get to it later.

Here’s where the real fun starts:

5:30 – Shorts Program III. I specifically requested tickets for this one in the hopes that Franco, who directed one of the films in this program, will make an appearance. His premiere for Howl is tonight, so I don’t see why he wouldn’t show up the very next day…unless he has to get back to GenH. Anyway, this is the one celebrity I’m really stoked to see (“stoked” is understating it. I’ll probably shit my pants.) So please please please God, let that hunk of stoner manmeat be there.

8:00 – His and Her. This documentary seems to depart from the usual style that you see all over film festivals, so I’m really excited about this one.

10:00 – Hesher. Hopefully I get into this screening. There is a lot less press this year, but, consequently, they’ve scheduled a lot fewer screenings in venues with a lot fewer seats. This one has a bunch of stars in it (my other celebrity crush, Natalie Portman, Joeseph-Gordon Leavitt – who is all over the festival this year – and so on), so it might be an early night for me.

Day 2

9:15 – The Company Men. Ben Affleck better deliver, because I’m getting up hella early for this movie. I’m thinking it will be a darker Up in the Air without all the romantic comedy. Sounds like a sure thing, actually.

11:30/12:00 – Teenage Paparazzo or Bran Nue Dae. I haven’t decided which one I’ll go to. Probably Bran Nue Dae because it’s Australian, a musical, and probably an easier time slot. On the other hand, I know my editors would rather I see Teenage Paparazzo because it is sure to be a much bigger movie here in the states, what with that Entourage fella being in it.

2:00 – Boy. A New Zealand picture. That’s all you have to say to convince me, actually.

4:30 – Catfish. From the description this seems to be a film about internet stalking, art, and underaged weirdos.

8:00 – Please Give. Nicole Holofcener is finally coming out with a new film. I’ve loved everything she’s done and I doubt this will be an exception. Plus, it stars Catherine Keener, who has a great laugh.

10:30 – Splice. Oh.My.God. This movie has everything I’d ever want: Adrian Brody and Sarah Polley genetically engineer a mutant monster?? I’m in.

3 Comments

Filed under Film Festivals, Whitney

3 responses to “Sundance Schedule Day #1 and #2

  1. michelle

    howl has lots of hunks in it. i really want to see splice too. i’m excited to read all your reviews.

  2. Can Luke and I still come see a movie with you one of these days?

    • Probably. But it would probably be easier to give you a couple tickets and have you see one in Salt Lake without us…just because we have really tight schedules mapped out. I’ll let you know when I know.

Leave a Reply

