Unrelated Ranting

I want to use this blog about movies to rant a little bit about things that are kind of unrelated to movies, but kind of totally related because movies, if you think about it, are related to everything. So lets get this shit underway:

Lately I’ve been really disappointed by my tendency towards self-censorship. I’m sitting here eating canned beets, writing a semi-crazy  anti-Mormon rant when I say to myself “this is the internet. People will read this,” and delete the whole thing. Sure, it was pretty offensive and I don’t want to make my dad cry, but it was also pretty funny and totally relevant. Because who cares that I’m eating beets? Aren’t you more interested in what I have to say about the ERA? I am!

Maybe self-censoring isn’t the problem. Maybe what you don’t say is far more interesting than what you can say, and maybe hurting peoples’ feelings just isn’t all that great. Maybe the problem is that I do it badly. Because Whitman self-censored all the time, but he still got to talk about blow jobs all he wanted (they were just hidden blow jobs!). But without all the potential literal imagery and swears, Whitman isn’t very funny.

I don’t expect Dear Jesus’s readers to be the biggest Kevin Smith fans, but you have to hand it to someone that can be so candid. Not only with his fans in Q&As and SmodCast, but in the films he’s willing to make. Can you imagine taking your mom to go see Dogma? It’s only a million times worse when you made the thing, I’m sure. There are cruder movies out there, but Smith’s films don’t pretend to be anything they aren’t. Sure, Chasing Amy’s on Criterion, but it wasn’t made with the intention of ever getting to that level of critical appeal. These movies are comedies, with poop jokes, and Smith is as honestly crude as he feels like being. I think that openness of purpose is nice. Maybe I could make something that looked as good as Clerks, but I could never be that open with it, and I respect the View Askew people for that attitude.

Marrying someone that recently left the Mormon church puts me in an interesting position. On the one hand, I have to be the mediator that calms him down when he’s screaming “burn the temple!!!” on Main Street. On the other hand, he gets me thinking about all this stuff again and it makes me angrier and angrier. And all I want to do is be candid about it with people that matter to me. Never going to happen. Not even on a blog that I’m pretty sure is safe territory as far as my immediate family is concerned. And that makes me sad…or angrier. I don’t know.

5 Comments

Filed under Whitney

5 responses to “Unrelated Ranting

  1. 福田饰品进货网主营丽晶饰品/提供魅力天使饰品,贝迪茜妮,施华洛世奇/水晶饰品/进货/团购/假1赔10福田饰品批发网.

  2. Rex

    With everything which

    appears to be developing inside this area, all your points of view tend to be relatively exciting.
    Having said

    that, I appologize, but I do not subscribe to your

    whole theory, all be it refreshing none the

    less. It appears to everybody that your opinions

    are actually not totally validated and in

    reality you are your self not even

    totally convinced of the point. In any

    event I did take pleasure in looking at it.

  3. As a Newbie, I am continuously exploring online for articles that can

    be of assistance to me. Thank you

  4. We’re a group of volunteers and starting a brand new scheme in our community.

    Your web site provided us with useful information to paintings

    on. You have performed a formidable job and our entire

    community might be grateful to

    you.

  5. I have read a few good stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for revisiting.
    I

    surprise how much effort you put to create such a wonderful

    informative site.

Leave a Reply

