Vamanos Compañeros!

Sergio Corbucci’s Compañeros has everything we’ve come to expect from our Spaghetti Westerns: a morally ambiguous hero with a nickname (this time unoriginally called The Swede, seeing as he’s from Sweden), a rockin’/whistlin’ soundtrack from Ennio Morricone that bursts in whenever some wicked action starts up, dubbed English from half of the main characters and all of the extras, a babe of the west wearing a lot of 60s-looking makeup, elaborate torture schemes (including, of course, burying someone in sand up to their neck and then trampling their head with horses), and a ridiculous amount of bullets strapped around waists, shoulders, machine guns, and stashed in trucks and trains that may or may not blow up at some point.

Companeros

And Compañeros gives us some things we haven’t seen before. Like, the marijuana obsessed villain played by Jack Palance sporting a metal hand and long, Severus Snape hair. Between tokes, Palance strokes his pet hawk (named Marsha) and plots ridiculous death schemes on behalf of the American oil companies that want to strike a deal with Mexico: “we get control of your oil for 99 years.”
Jack Palance Companeros

Then there is the revolutionary professor who enjoys nonviolence and keeping pet turtles – feeding them with the toasted remains of Marsha after our heroes shoot her down and cook her up for dinner. The death count is in the millions and there’s a four way standoff (eat your heart out, Sergio Leone!).

The tag line for Compañeros is as follows: Fate brought them together…Greed made them inseparable…Violence made them COMPAÑEROS!

Companeros Dos

I think that pretty much sums it up.

Oh wait. This too:

Companeros tres

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Vamanos Compañeros!

  1. heather

    I like when I read this blog and I can tell within the first sentence whether it was Whitney or Brian who wrote it. I also like when I can’t tell at all, and I have to read the blog more than once before deciding that this is definitely a Whitney joke, or no, I don’t think Whitney would take the time to keep putting the little thingy above the n.

    I guess what I’m trying to say is that I just like this blog.

  2. brian

    heather, there’s a sure fire way to tell who writes what, but i don’t know if i should reveal the secret.

    and i’m am going to watch this movie this week. maybe for movie night.

  3. heather

    Don’t tell me. I figured there’s an easy way to show who wrote the blog, but (it isn’t super obvious to me when I look at the page and) I like the guessing game.

    I even knew that Whitney had this movie because together we cracked up over the description on the back. I guess I underestimated her, and for that I am truly sorry.

  4. heather

    Don’t tell me. I figured there’s an easy way to show who wrote the blog, but (it isn’t super obvious to me when I look at the page and) I like the guessing game.

    I even knew that Whitney had this movie because together we cracked up over the description on the back. I guess I underestimated her, and for that I am truly sorry.

    I’ve been using the word ‘companeros’ (no little thing) non-stop since reading this post, as a replacement for my usual pet names (kiddos, buttholes, babies, sweetpeas) when addressing a group (my siblings). Whitney, you’d hate it so much. But not as much when I say ‘papi’.

  5. Whitney

    Or when you call your mom “sugar momma” or “momma-sita” or “big momma” or whatever you call her.

Leave a Reply

